Running Squash

I have to say…after the disaster that was my green monster, my day got much better. As I have mentioned, I am not a runner. I can dance all day long, aerobic classes are no issues, but running is stinking hard!! So I have decided to just keep doing a two miler by my house, and hope to get faster. Well let me tell you I got faster!! By a couple minutes!! I know it’s only two miles, but for a non runner it feels like a huge accomplishment!!

Moving on…
After my run with Foxy I was craving yogurt!!!

Fage 0% Greek Yogurt, Pomegranate arils, and Oatmeal Squares.

I don’t think I will ever get sick of this yogurt bowl…love how crisp, refreshing, and sweet it is!!

I also want to admit that I am a butternut squash addict. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to fall in love with this squash, but I’ve fallen, and I’ve fallen hard.


Hungry Dancer’s Butternut Squash crispy bites!

I don’t know that I can really call this a recipe because it’s the easiest thing to make…ever. But I’m rolling with it because I’m obsessed! And if you are as lazy as me you buy pre cut squash because cutting the whole thing is a pain!! (thank you Costco!!)

Pre heat over to 425
Spray Pan with Non stick cooking spray
Spread Butternut squash so no pieces are on top of each other.
Spray again with Oil Spray. (I use Olive Oil Spray)
Add spices!!
Bake for 40-45 minutes.

I used Pam, Garlic Salt, and Cayenne.

These babies came out so crispy on the outside, but nice and tender on the inside. They are as addicting as fries!! I might have to say I enjoy this more then my baked sweet potato fries!!

Dipped in Nancy’s light ranch. HEAVEN!!

That was an awesome snack but dinner was pretty awesome too. I think I was trying to make my eats awesome because my breakfast sucked wasn’t that good.

One of my favorite things to do is make my own tortilla pizza’s!! Remember my mexican pizza? Well this time I made a BBQ chicken pizza!!

One of my favorite tricks for making these are using string cheese!! I put it in the food processor and look what happens!

Before

After

I love how two string cheeses turns into a ton of cheese!!

I took my La Tortilla Factory tortilla and baked it for five minutes so it started to crisp.

Added BBQ sauce

Added Roma Tomatoes

Added the cheese and shredded chicken breast

The final product!! (Don’t judge me because I was starving and didn’t let the cheese completely melt…..)

Let me tell you. One of the best tortilla pizza’s ever!! I love BBQ sauce!

I rounded out the night with a pummelo the size of my head. I am still loving this fruit!!

Well time for me to head to bed because tomorrow is another day of Cardio Barre and work!!

Have you ever used a tortilla as a thin crust pizza? What are your swaps for pizza crust?


20 responses to “Running Squash

  1. Mmmm….bnut squash! I’ve used a tortilla for a pizza-makes a good size and you don’t get full off the dough as bad!

  2. such a good idea to shread your own cheese! ahah!! and i love butternut squahs.. will def try it this way!

  3. A tortilla pizza sounds delicious right now.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this butternut squash widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about butternut squash,Thanks!

  4. Great idea for the squash, we have just started eating a lot of squash fries and loving them, this will change it up a bit. Nice and simple and so much better for us. Thanks for your seasoning idea.

  5. I’ve never tried butternut squash, but your recipe looks amazing!
    I’ve used tortillas, pita pockets and english muffins as pizza crust swaps before!

  6. Why, oh why did I not think to use a tortilla as a thin crust?! you are genius!!!

  7. DiningAndDishing

    congrats on the good run! i am also not a natural runner so i know how good it can feel when you accomplish something you weren’t sure you were capable of :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. A few minutes is a lot of time to take off a 2 mile run! Congrats! Your squash looks amazing. I could happily eat squash for every meal 🙂

  9. Everything looks amazing =) I’m going to crisp the pants off my butternut squash next time! I did the same with kabocha and I loved it! I agree – way better than sweet potato fries! I think b/c they are a little less sweet and a little more savory? delish regardless!

    I’m going to follow you in my google reader so I can stop by more often and say hello! ❤

    xoxo

  10. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  11. I use pitas or tortillas for pizza crust, but we’ve started making our own since I found the 5 minute a day bread book. I LOVE the butternut squash bites. I have made them with sweet potatoes and parsnips with chipotle chili powder for some sweet and spicy combo.

    Great blog!! I found you at foodie blogroll, btw

  12. I just bought dough! But I’ve never used a tortilla… But i think your bbq chicken pizza looks AMAZING!

  13. We’ve used tortillas, pita bread and naan for pizza crust!

  14. String cheese in the food processor is genius! I’ve used tortillas, english muffins, french bread, pitas, flat outs, and the list goes on and on as pizza crust! They all work well but give the pizza a unique flavor!

  15. Pingback: Good Day « Hungry Dancer

  16. livelaughloveandrun

    I love Butternut Squash!! I never make my own pizza because I’m not a big pizza eater, but I like to use “flat out wraps” for quesadillas and fajitas and stuff like that. I could see it working for pizza too!

  17. Pingback: March Madness « Hungry Dancer

Leave a Reply

