California Open 2011

Hello lovelies!! I may be the happiest girl on the planet right now!!!! I feel like I’m floating on cloud 9!!! Let me start by saying this competition was the best one yet!!! I competed yesterday and did even better then I hoped!!!

Lets start from the beginning…I had to be up around 7:00am to get to Irvine by 9:15.  My cousin Liza had offered to do my hair and makeup, so that was awesome.  In ballroom, how you look is almost as important as how you dance!!

Liza and I.

Once I was all made up, it was time warm up with my partner!

My teacher and I.

I compete Pro/Am, so I dance with my teacher! We compete against other Pro/Am couples in our age and level!

I started by doing two rounds of single dances.  This means that I get judged on each single dance.

The dances I did were:

  • Cha Cha
  • Rumba
  • Swing
  • Bolero
  • Mambo

Those are the core five America Rhythm dances!!

On my single dances, the first round I got all seconds out of 8-9 girls!! That was great considering this was my first competition with my new teacher.  I have competed many times before but this is a new partner for me. (He is the best yet!)

This pushed me to want to work it even harder!! At night I competed in two multi dance categories, a best of the best challenge, and scholarship! I decided I needed to win those, I pulled through and won FIRST PLACE! For best of the best I was qualified to go to Ohio to compete for a major Pro/Am title!! Ohio Star Ball is the biggest Pro/Am competition in the Ballroom world!! With the scholarship I was able to win some $$$!!

In the coral dress standing on the number 1!!!

When you are waiting for them to give out the awards, they start by saying the last place, and end with the first place.  Every time they called out some one else’s number I was so happy.  When I was the last one standing, I almost fainted with happiness!!!  Being able to stand on the top of the podium and knowing I won, was the best feeling.  It really makes me feel like all my hard work payed off!!

More shots from the day:

Dancing shot!

Me and my friend Will after I got my first place medal!!

Me and my teacher Felipe!

With my parents!!

Will and I!

It was one of the best days of my life!!! I am beyond thrilled with the results and can’t wait to compete again!!! I will be back later with a real post! Hope you enjoyed the recap!!

xoxo

Lauren

20 responses to “California Open 2011

  1. AHH CONGRATS CONGRATS!! you must feel AMAZING- and you shoujld!! you look absolutely stunning in those photos!!

  2. You look BEAUTIFUL as ever and CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im so happy for you, I know how hard you have been practicing and I am so proud of you!! So awesome you will be going on to compete in Ohio!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love ya girl! This made my day brighter, knowing you won 1st place! : )

  3. um you look HOT! What a beautiful dress!!! 🙂 Congratulations! you are the best i’m so happy for you 🙂 do you have videos or anything? i’m a creep what can i say 😛

    I used to ice dance… I kind of miss it sometimes. Somehow i”m more coordinated on ice than on land. go figure, right? 😉


    n

    • THank you so much!!! 🙂 Yes I have on video you can find on my dance page!! I am in the process of trying to load the videos from the competition!! Hopefully they will be up soon!!

  4. Oh my goodness, girl, congrats! It’s so amazing that you had lots of fun and even won a lot of awards too boot. All your hard work really paid off. Ballroom dancing is one of my favorites so I wish I could have been at the competition to support you. There is something so lively and beautiful about ballroom.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  5. Wow, that seems like it was fun 🙂

  6. Congratulations! I can’t even imagine how you feel right now, enjoy it! You look amazing.

  7. Girl you look amazing!!! Congrats 😀

  8. AW Lauren! So happy for you!!! So glad it was such a great experience, and sounds like a lot of fun too!! That’s how competition should be!! Love that coral color too! Hope you are having a fabulous weekend!!!!!!!!!! 😀

  9. Wowww so awesome girl!! You rock 🙂 Looks like dancing with the stars over there! So happy for you! xoxo

  10. WOOOOOO!!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! What an accomplishment! 🙂

  11. Congratulations girl!!! That is so amazing. You look gorgeous in your dress !!!

  12. Congratulations! First place- that is AWESOME! That is a huge deal 🙂

  13. I gave you the Versatile Blogger Award on my blog!

  14. You look so gorgeous!!! Congrat on 1st place girl, that is amazing!!! 🙂

  15. GORGEOUS!!!! CONGRATS!!!!! ahhhh i’m so happy for you! You have totally go to post videos of you dancing! or have you already and I missed them!?

    you rock! have a great weekend love!

  16. Pingback: Pescatarian? « Hungry Dancer

  17. Pingback: New Competition Dress |

Leave a Reply

