Benefits of Ballroom

Happy Saturday!!! Are you all having a lovely weekend?? Mine has been pretty good so far!! I’m so glad you guys aren’t judging me for being such a coffee addict!! I found out some of you are too!!!!

Today’s breakfast was the same as yesterday’s!!! When you like something…you have to go with it!! Thanks Justin!!

201103051709.jpg

(source)

These nut butters make me too happy!!!

Lunch went a little like this:

IMG_0337.JPG

Trader Joe’s Southwest Salad!!! I love the dressing they use!! It’s a perfect mix of spicy and creamy!!! I also had it with this yummy drink!!

IMG_0490.JPG

I haven’t had the mango flavored kombucha in forever!!! I forgot how good and mongoey it is!! (Yes mangoey is a word now!!) My favorite flavor is definitely Trilogy…but this is a close second!!

Since I shared my coffee addiction, I thought I would share my mid afternoon drink of the day!

IMG_0491.jpg

Triple espresso over ice in a venti cup. Add 2 pumps white mocha, 3 pumps sugar free vanilla! I LOVE this combo!!! I also add my own milk at the end, and this huge drink ends up being about $2.30!! Not bad for a huge delicious coffee!!

Tonight I was supposed to go with my friend Shay to pick up his new car, but he ended up canceling on me!! It’s okay though, I will probably go out for a girls night!!! Who doesn’t love girls night??

I wanted to give you more insight into dancing!! I found this great article on the benefits of ballroom dancing!!

“Ballroom Dance Health Benefits:

Overview

Although ballroom dancing may not be as strenuous an activity as training to run a marathon, don’t knock the benefits of regular movement and exercise. The U.S. Department of Agriculture considers ballroom dancing a “moderate” activity. It has some specific health benefits, too, that may not have occurred to you before.

Muscle Toning

Ballroom dancing helps tone and strengthen the muscles in your calves, thighs and buttocks. Specific ballroom dance moves work these muscles differently than more familiar exercises, such as walking, jogging or cycling, do. If you’re performing a style that involves lifting or dipping your partner, you can also get a pretty good upper body workout. Ballroom dancing will also help strengthen the core muscles of the abdomen and back.

Conditioning


Any regular exercise performed continuously for 30 to 40 minutes three or four times a week will help condition your cardiovascular system, strengthening your heart and lowering your cholesterol and blood pressure. It will also increase your lung capacity and your general stamina.

Bones and Joints


Dancing is a weight-bearing exercise, so it helps maintain bone density and prevent osteoporosis. It can also help rehabilitate your knees after surgery, as it’s lower impact than jogging or aerobics.


Brain Food

A 2003 study published in the “New England Journal of Medicine” suggests that social dancing has a special benefit for seniors: it reduces the chances of dementia. As it’s an activity that one performs with a partner, it can also lessen loneliness and depression in the elderly.

Calories Burned

Thirty minutes of dancing burns between 200 and 400 calories — the same amount burned by swimming or cycling.”

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/339070-ballroom-dance-health-benefits/#ixzz1FmKh114A

That’s all for now!!!

XOXO

Lauren

Have you ever tried Ballroom dancing?? Do you dance at all?? What are you doing tonight??

19 responses to “Benefits of Ballroom

  1. Ballroom dancing sounds like a crazy good work out!! 🙂

  2. Ballroom dancing always looks amazing. I actually had a friend in high school that was really into it. I’m not coordinated at all to be able to try and do it but if I could I would!

  3. I love that flavor Kombucha too!

    Of course I love Justins Squeeze Packs too! Love that you have a huge stash!!

    Happy Saturday night!! xoxo ❤

  4. There’s another benefit to ballroom dancing… sometimes that’s where your parents meet, so that if it didn’t exist, then neither would you 😛

    So envious of all the nut butters! THey aren’t available in Australia 😦

  5. Justin’s is the best! I so wish I could dance. Unfortunately, I have two left feet. But now I can live all my dancing dreams through you!

  6. Oh man I love Justin! Ahemmm I mean Justin nut butters 😀 Noo I haven’t EXACTLY ballroom danced, but I’ll soon (most likely) be learning certain styles of dances with my fiance! 😛

  7. I’d love to try Ballroom dancing. I do tap, ballet and zumba! Doing tap and ballet leaves me feeling like a five year old again.

  8. ooo great benefits!!! i have never done ballroom but i used to do lyrical and hip hop for 7 years ( i know.. complete contrasts!

  9. Omg so many nut butters!! And I’ve never tried ballroom dancing but it seems like an awesome workout! 😀

  10. That would be a really great and fun workout!

  11. I’ve tried salsa and I’d love to have a go at ballroom dancing… looks great!
    Thank you for your comment on my blog!

  12. I used to do pointe, ballet, jazz, and tap!

  13. almond butter, YUM YUM YUM!!!

  14. Wow ballroom sounds AMAZING!! I’ve always wanted to try it (or any dance really!), and think it’s SO COOL that you do it!! 😀

  15. I wish I could ballroom dance! I am super uncoordinated! Have you ever posted any videos of you dancing?

  16. Ive never tried ball room AT ALL. Or any kind of dance for that matter, unless you call bump and grind a dance 😉 You know those highschool dances…they arent much of dances now are they? lol I would so love to learn how to really dance though! And genius coffee combo!! Ive got to try that one 🙂

  17. If I were more coordinated, I’d definitely take up dancing! Sounds like so much fun!!!
    I love nut butters, too!!! =D

Leave a Reply

